Calls to blackball SAMA26 voting as Limpopo artists are sidelining #Sama26mustfall

Calls to blackball SAMA26 voting as Limpopo artists are sidelining #Sama26mustfall

Calls to blackball SAMA26 voting as Limpopo artists are sidelining #Sama26mustfall

The South African Music Awards (Sama) released the list of nominations for the 2020 awards in the week , and already there’s unhappiness about the names. Fans and artists tweeted their anger and disappointment.

Limpopo-born artist Master KG took to Twitter to precise his disappointment after not being nominated in any of the #SAMA26 categories.

Jerusalema was one among the chart-topping hits for 2019. The song hit No 2 on Ukhozi FM top 10 songs for 2019 and it’s had quite 30 million views on YouTube.

This week, Master KG’s Jerusalema Remix ft Burna Boy and Nomcebo Zikode debuted at No 6 on the Billboard World Digital Sales Chart and No 31 within the Billboard Hot Dance/Electronic Chart.

Makhadzi, the Matorokisi and Tshanda Vhuya hitmaker, poured her heart out over the snub on social media, thanking her legion of fans for standing together with her along the journey though she feels heart broken for not being nominated. Her song Matorokisi was one among the most important in 2019 and lots of radio stations featured her from 2019 to 2020.

Posting on her Twitter page Makhadzi congratulated other musicians for being nominated. She went on to precise her disappointment over the snub as she expected a nomination after what ‘Matorikisi did to Africans’.

These aren’t the sole Limpopo artists who feel they need been overlooked within the Samas.

Khutso Kgatle, popularly referred to as King Monada, also didn’t score one nomination within the prestigious awards. This was albeit his hit songs Ska Bhora Moreki and Malwedhe trended worldwide and received tons of radio airplays.

Fans voiced their disappointment on Twitter about how they think the awards aren’t fair.

The SA Music Awards has since begin to its own defense by releasing a document which they assert clarifies the choice process for Record of the Year and Music Video of the Year.

Comments are closed.